What Athletes Should Expect Upon Retirement: Scammers

You will never stop scammers. This is your warning. I receive at least 13 emails and 2-3 text messages per day from some sort of human/bot combination, telling me how someone was in an accident, or that my antivirus software for a computer I don’t even own is about to be renewed, or that my package I never ordered is not able to be delivered because the post office, which has been in business for over 300 years, suddenly doesn't know how to use a fucking zip code.

In the world of professional athletes, especially those in the overseas market, these scams have been navigated often as the word “trust” became a loose association with the truth. Contracts are treated like the contract you made with your crush in 5th grade, to get married at recess. Money transactions are conducted like an evening spent playing Monopoly with your family, with the promise of actual currency, becoming orange $500 bills stained with Pizza Hut grease.

Athletes have navigated these rocky shores for years. Our social media DM’s are filled with scammers trying to capitalize on our name, with promises of money. These promises, like the small surplus of Monopoly money shoved neatly under the board, are all pretend.

When I retired from my illustrious/anonymous athletic career, I found myself unsure of what lay ahead, with no real map to guide me through it. The transition from the familiar world of train/compete/dominate, to network/find lucrative job/make it rain, was far more difficult. It was during this time of vulnerability that I turned to respectful social media platforms like LinkedIn, hoping to connect with like-minded individuals who could guide me through the next chapter of my life.

But little did I know that the world outside of sports could be just as competitive and unforgiving. I quickly discovered that there are people out there who see retired athletes as easy targets, eager to exploit their contacts and value. I was scammed not once, but twice by individuals who promised career opportunities but only sought to benefit from my network.

These experiences taught me a valuable lesson: always do your homework and vet individuals before engaging with them. We spend years studying film. We are the scene from The Program, where star linebacker Alvin Mack didn’t know who fought in the Punic Wars, but knew every aspect of Mississippi State’s offense, including the line that made me pass on playing high school football, “Kill the quarterback. Hit the tight end so hard his girlfriend dies. Kill everybody.”

We have already vetted our competition. We knew their strengths and weaknesses, and like Buddy Walker in Hoosiers, what kind of gum they were chewing.

So why couldn’t I utilize that same approach when it came to life after sport? The glossy social media profiles and enticing promises can be deceiving. I realized how vital it was to conduct thorough research, seek recommendations, and verify credentials to protect myself from falling victim to opportunistic scammers. This is a new space for athletes. One we haven't trained for.

While my encounters with scammers shook my faith in networking, I soon realized that not everyone was out to exploit me. Within the occasional manure piles, there were genuine connections. Building a reliable network requires patience. Once I realized that, I was able to rebuild my network on a foundation of trust.

Retirement forces athletes to confront a profound identity crisis. Without the adrenaline rush of competition, it's easy to lose sight of our purpose and value. I had to dig deep within myself to redefine success beyond the confines of my athletic career.

As I embarked on this path of self discovery, I realized that my experiences with scammers were teachable moments. Like the famous quote that I saw plagiarized on some random person’s Instagram says:

“Wins feel greater when you've lost. Being fit feels like a superpower when you've been out of shape. Rest feels more relaxing when you've worked your ass off. Embrace the hard times. They will make the good times that much greater.”

These setbacks taught me to be cautious, to trust my instincts, and to always prioritize my own well-being and interests.

But perhaps the most important lesson I learned was the importance of giving back. I discovered that by sharing my own experiences and offering support to fellow athletes going through similar transitions, I could make a positive impact on their lives. I found fulfillment in helping others navigate the often treacherous waters of post-retirement life.

I am grateful for the challenges I faced and the lessons I learned. Yes, there have been moments of frustration and disappointment, but they ultimately shaped me into a wiser and more resilient individual. I now understand that the world outside of sports is not an enemy to be feared. Instead it is a realm of endless possibilities waiting to be explored.

To all athletes facing retirement or contemplating life beyond their careers, I urge you to embrace the unknown with open arms. There will be scammers and individuals seeking to exploit you, but you will be able to navigate these challenges and emerge victorious.

Your value extends far beyond the playing field. You possess a unique set of skills, experiences, and a network that can be leveraged for success in any endeavor. So, do your homework, vet your connections, and never underestimate the power of forging genuine relationships. If you need help check out FoKused Sports who will educate you on how to avoid the same pitfalls.