Will Caitlin Clark's WNBA Journey Halt the Trend of Athletes Going Overseas

I was midway through my pro basketball career and found myself in Poland waiting for a connecting flight home. I sat on a small uncomfortable bench in this bustling Polish airport polishing off my small serving of frytkis. As I headed towards the trash can to dispose of my greasy lunch, I saw a familiar face walk through the terminal. It was Tamika Catchings, I recognized her instantly as she was a legend at Tennessee and was dominating the WNBA at the time. My curiosity was piqued. What was she doing here in Poland, I asked myself.

Considering the unwritten rule that when in a foreign country and playing the same sport, you instantly become best friends, I set out to say hello, figuring our enhanced height and the fact that I was an American would be a good jumping off point. I approached her cautiously, trying not to appear like a creep. I smiled and mouthed the words hello, but before my voice reached my lips, she walked right past me, her gaze focused on the signs above.

Just a simple misunderstanding, I assured myself and followed her as she walked through the busy terminal. I was almost within conversational distance when she made a quick turn into the bathroom, either for obvious reasons, or because being tailed by a 7 footer in a foreign country is a little alarming. I figured standing outside the bathroom waiting for her, would have just confirmed her fears. I walked back to my terminal still unsure why one of the greatest female athletes of all time was in Poland.

I wasn’t aware at the time that she was spending her WNBA offseason playing overseas, a common practice among players looking to supplement their incomes during the winter season. This is pretty common knowledge these days but back then, I assumed that WNBA players had a comfortable salary. I was wrong.

I began looking deeper into the world of women's basketball. Seeing the salaries I quickly understood the choices they made. This revelation that WNBA players supplement their income by playing overseas during the offseason shed light on the financial realities many of these athletes face. It was a reality I was quite familiar with, as I had made my way overseas from an NBA affiliate for the same reason.

The allure of playing overseas has been an interesting opportunity for athletes seeking more lucrative opportunities and international exposure. However, with the recent emergence of basketball superstar Caitlin Clark, a new narrative is emerging…one that raises questions about the future of athletes choosing to head overseas.

Clark's decision to join the WNBA comes at a crucial time for the league, which has been trying to increase its popularity and revenue since its inception twenty seven years ago. Clark's presence in the WNBA not only adds star power but also signals a potential shift in the landscape of women's basketball.

The key factor that influences an athletes' decisions to head overseas is financial stability. Historically, playing abroad has offered women’s athletes higher salaries and endorsement deals compared to domestic leagues. However, with the WNBA making strides in increasing player salaries and securing  media rights deals, the financial incentive to go overseas may be diminishing.

Add in the efforts to enhance its marketing and branding initiatives, and the WNBA could entice athletes to stay in the league. If these initiatives bring in more global fans in the same way the NBA has done then the W could become the most-watched women's sports leagues in the world.

However, the allure of playing overseas and expanding their brand globally remains an exciting proposition for many athletes. The opportunity to experience different cultures, and reach a broader audience can be appealing to players looking to elevate their careers and increase their marketability.

In the case of Caitlin Clark, the decision to stay in the WNBA or explore opportunities overseas could have a significant impact on the future of women's basketball. Clark's choice will not only shape her own career, but also influence the decisions of other athletes navigating similar paths.

Ultimately, the evolving landscape of women's sports and the WNBA's ongoing efforts to enhance its profile may play a significant role in determining whether the trend of athletes heading overseas will continue or if more players will choose to stay and build their brands domestically. The decision Caitlin Clark faces sheds a light on the difficult and exciting opportunities that exist for women’s basketball, where athletes must weigh financial and personal goals in shaping their careers.